Navratri Celebration (part 1 of 2)

Navratri Celebration

Navratri: Nine Nights of Festivities

'Navratri' is a term that signifies 'nine nights.' A festival that celebrates the nine forms of Navdurga, with each day holding spiritual importance and singing the hymns of the divine goddesses.

First Day - Shailaputri

The first day of Navratri is for the worship of Devi Shailputri. Devi Shailaputri is associated with divine consciousness and spiritual and emotional awakening, as 'Shaila' means rising to great heights of consciousness. On this day, we propitiate Devi Shailaputri to bless us with awakening and consciousness.

Second Day - Brahmacharini

Devi Brahmcharini is the form of Devi Parvati with Lord Shiva as her consort. Brahma means consciousness, and achar means behavior. Any act done in divine consciousness is known as Brahmacharya. Inner divinity should be explored on this day as it is sacred for meditation.

Third-Day - Chandraghanta

Chandraghanta is the form of Devi Parvati assumed at the time of her marriage with Lord Shiva. Chandra refers to the moon that represents our mind as, just like the shapeshifting of the moon everything, our thoughts also always take new shapes. Ghanta is the holy bell that always produces a single sound. The significance of this day is that a mind that learns how to be established at one point that is divine will lead a peaceful and harmonious life.

Fourth Day - Kushmanda

Ku means little, ushma refers to energy, and anda means egg. It is believed that our universe has emerged from a cosmic egg, which manifested from infinitesimal energy Devi.

Fifth Day - Skandamata

Skandamata is the mother of Skanda. This day worships the motherly side of Devi Parvati, mother of Lord Karthikeya. Worshiping Devi Skandamata is believed to bring abundance and liberation.

Sixth Day - Katyayni

The Katyayni form of Mother Divine annihilates all the demonic forces in the universe, as this form was born from the anger of the gods to kill Mahishasura, an evil demon. Katyayni represents anger born to restore spirituality and balance. This day signifies an opportunity to recognize all our inner foes and put an end to them by walking on the path of spirituality.

Seventh Day - Kalaratri

The two extremes of Mother Nature are believed to be devastating and the other serene. Devi Kalaratri represents the night which although dark, brings solace, comfort, and rest.

Eighth Day - Mahagauri

Devi Mahagauri is the giver of freedom and momentum in life, representing the aspects of nature that are serene and beautiful. Worshiping Devi Mahagauri can help liberate us from all evil attachments.

Ninth Day - Siddhidatri

Siddhi represents perfection, and Devi Siddhidatri brings perfection to life. With the worship of Devi Siddhidatri, we ask for a consciousness that explores realms that can go beyond the logical reasoning of space and time.

Now that you know the significance of all Nine Nights of Navratri, come join us as we celebrate this auspicious festival. Visit to get exciting discounts on your favorite Reshma Beauty® products this Navratri.